About Ayurveda

Ayurveda (Ayur + Veda = Ayurveda) is one of the oldest and ancient medicine system in India. It is a mixture of art and philosophy. Ayurveda means ‘knowledge of life’ and to summarize it can be described as the essence of Ayurveda.

हिताहितं सुखं दुःखमायुस्तस्य हिताहितम्।

मानं च तच्च यत्रोक्तमायुर्वेदः स उच्यते॥ -(चरक संहिता १/४०)

Granth which describes the following – Hit aayu(in favor of life), Ahit aayu (against life), sukh aayu (healthy life) and dukh aayu (disease stage) is known as Ayurveda.

History of Ayurveda –

The oldest book in the world was Rigveda. The scholars assume that the creation of “history of Ayurveda” was done before 3-50 thousand years ago. The theory of Ayurveda is radiated here and there in the Rigveda Samhita. Ayurvedic Granth like Charak, Susrut and Kashyap consider Ayurveda as Atharva Veda’s upveda. Hence, it proofs that Ayurveda is very ancient. Moreover, we can also say that the creation of Ayurveda was before 3 thousand B.C to 50 thousand years ago, i.e around origin of the creation. Aacharya Ashwani Kumar is considered the father of this shastra.


Charaka Samhita - Charaka  

The extant text has eight sthāna (books), totalling 120 chapters.

Sushruta Samhita - Sushruta  

The extant text has six sthāna (books), totalling 184 chapters.

Ashtanga Hridayam - Vagbhata  

The extant text has six sthāna (books), totalling 120 chapters.

  Bhava Prakasha - Bhavamishra

This is the most important text, written by Bhava-Mishra on the information of herbs

  Madhava Nidanam - Madhava

This is written in two volumes, written by Madhava, on the pathogenesis of the diseases.

  Sharngadhara-Samhita - Sharngadhara

This deals mainly with information of various formulae.

Definition of Ayurveda and its explanation –

(1) आयुर्वेदयति बोधयति इति आयुर्वेदः।

Ayurveda is an existing ancient saahitya which when studied in detail is helpful to analyze the detailed lifestyle study.

In other words, which facilitate the knowledge of Shastra (Science) and age (life) is known as Ayurveda.

  1. The science which tells us about healthy and ill person respectively is known as Ayurveda.
  2. In all, Shastra which constitutes the information about aayu sakha (age division), aayu vidya, aayu sutra, aayu lakshan (age characteristics), aayu tantra (Anatomy) is defined as Ayurveda.

Major Granths of Ayurveda –

1 – Vahyatri

2 – Laghuyatri


1 – Charaka Samhita – Charaka

2 – Sushruta Samhita – Sushruta

3 – Ashtanga HridayamVagbhata


1 – Bhava Prakasha – Bhavamishra

2 – Madhava Nidanam – Madhava

3 – SharngadharaSamhitaSharngadhara

8 Segments of Ayurveda

  1. Kayachikitsa
  2. Shalya tantra
  3. Shalakya Tantra
  4. Kaumara Brithya
  5. Agada Tantra
  6. Bhoot vidya
  7. Rasayana Tantra
  8. Vajikarana Tantra

Principles of Ayurveda –

In Ayurveda, treatment is mainly divided in two parts: –

1 – Shodhana Chikitsa – It helps to eliminate the toxins from the body.

2 – Shamana Chikitsa – It helps to corrects the Doshas and restore the body condition.

Panchkarma –

Types of Panchkarma –

  1. Vamana
  2. Virechana
  3. Anuvasana Basti
  4. Asthapana Basti
  5. Nasya


Types of Shatkarmas –

  1. Neti
  2. Dhauti
  3. Nauli
  4. Vasti
  5. Kapal Bhati
  6. Tratak


Tridosha are of three types

  1. Vatt
  2. Pitta
  3. Kapha

Seven Dhatus

Rakta (Blood)

Mansa (Muscles)

Med (Fatty Tissue)

Asthi (Bones)

Majja (Bone Marrow and Nervous Tissue)

Semen (Shukra)


Mootra, Pureed, swveda


Yoga word is made up with the help of two sanskrit words.

युज+घञ् =  योग (Yoga) which means “to join”

‘योग’ शब्द ‘युज समाधौ’ आत्मनेपदी दिवादिगणीय धातु में ‘घञ्’ प्रत्यय लगाने से निष्पन्न होता है। अर्थात योग का अर्थ समाधी है। अर्थात चित्त वृत्तियों का निरोध।